top of page

What is it like to be in a foreign country with an entirely different cul

For me, I’m so proud to have different cultural background and have first hand experience in living across the world. It doesn’t mean that you forget where you come from, the land that nourished you to be who are today, it means that you have an opportunity to grasp on a whole new perspective of living life. I have my homesick nights, but then i realise that I have the chance to explore and engage in new ways of existing, so

I pull myself together, take a walk on the beach, talk to some people and be happy again.

My mom? She’s just happy that I’ve learnt how to budget my money and cook rotis. My dad? He keeps nagging me because he thinks I should go out more and party while I can. More than anything else, I’m just proud of myself cause I never thought I’d be able to live on my own, juggling between two jobs and university and still excelling at all.

If you doubt yourself, you’ll always be afraid of trying. And if you don’t try, you’ll never know if you can do it or not. Some things are worth trying and learning along the way after a few falls, than succeeding at first and not learning.

~Life of an International Student

bottom of page