top of page

Amazing Museum Trips in the UK

Hello! My name is Sophie, and I am a Chinese student studying MA Film Practice in Arts University Bournemouth! One of the reasons I came to study in the UK is the strong cultural atmosphere here. There are many brilliant and free museum exhibitions. I have been to some of them in the past few months and I can’t wait to share them all with you!

1. Ashmolean Museum

It was my first time going to Oxford in October, and there I visited the world's first university museum. Much like Oxford itself, the museum has a quiet and restrained beauty. I spent nearly three hours visiting it but still couldn’t appreciate all of the artworks.

I also visited another museum which is nearby—Modern Art Oxford. It is designed for individual exhibitions, so every time you visit you will see different artists’ work.

2. Dulwich Picture Gallery & Tate Britain

I am so glad that our class organised an “Art as Inspiration” Bus Trip to London at the end of November. The first gallery we visited was Dulwich Picture Gallery. There was a landmark exhibition 'Rembrandt’s Light', which included with 35 of his iconic paintings including his most famous paintings of women: A Woman Bathing in a Stream, A Woman in Bed and the Girl at a Window. They were all exhibited together.

In the afternoon we went to Tate Britain to enjoy Mark Leckey’s O' MAGIC POWER OF BLEAKNESS. Composed of new and existing work, this exhibition is an atmospheric,theatrical experience of spectral visions, sound and video. When it comes to Modern Art,people might think it's difficult to understand the artist's ideas, but I think we can all create our own interpretations of the artwork.

3.The National Gallery

This gallery is my favorite one because there are so many famous paintings inside like Vincent van Gogh’s Sunflower and Leonardo da Vinci’s The Virgin of the Rocks. In my course, our teachers encourage us to analyse paintings. We analyse how the light works and why characters are making a specific gesture. At AUB, no matter what course you are studying, you will come in contact with art work, which makes the course feel very rewarding.

Now it is your turn to discover the beauty of museums around the UK. Plan your timearound your course to see museums and galleries, as it is very worthwhile!

bottom of page