top of page

What it's like to graduate and go back home


Hello, my name is Valerija and I am a final year Creative Events Management student at AUB from Latvia. Three years ago I decided to get a degree in one of the UK's universities.

I still clearly remember my first day at the university. I was completely lost, had fear of living in a new country, new language, new study rules and new people. I absolutely did not know what to expect and what is expected from me. I felt like a chicken hatch.

Now it is one month before I graduate from AUB - WOW. How much effort was put into it. Can't wait to see my diploma.

But still, I have a fear about the future. I decided to move back to Latvia and start my business. After 3 years of living abroad, I forgot Latvian language (yes, i am from Latvia but I am Russian). I need to get used to the habits, daily routine, people and their behaviors in my country again. And it will take a while.

During these three years living in Bournemouth I always knew that I want to go back just because I missed my home, family, friends and the rest of the great parts in Latvia. I am very happy to go back because I have big plans for the future. At the same time I already miss Bournemouth. I feel sad to leave the UK because I met a lot of good people and friends, I will miss the beach and the amazing Dorset landscapes.

So my advice is to respect and enjoy every single moment while you are a student. Even if you miss home too much, try to see positive moments from it and stay happy.

All the best to everyone,

Valerija Russian Country Ambassador

bottom of page